The New Huntmastersbbs!

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The New Huntmastersbbs!   » Predator forum   » a ? for you "pampass know-it-alls"

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: a ? for you "pampass know-it-alls"
Kiyiyotie
PAKMAN
Member # 574

Icon 1 posted October 20, 2005 11:26 AM      Profile for Kiyiyotie           Edit/Delete Post 
At the risk of sounding like a rookie, I’ve got a question…well really a situational type of thing…for you more experienced guys. (And just for the record, I’m actually not a rookie. I’ve been calling for several years, but don’t have near the experience as many of you).

Probably the best way to “ask” this is just give a real life scenario – My buddy and I went calling the other night. The moon was bright and we usually don’t do too good on nights like that, but we went anyway wanting to beat the odds. We set up in the shadows overlooking field where we had killed coyotes before. This area usually has its share.

We ran two lights at low power while I blew a hand call, rabbit in distress. After 35 minutes of nothing, we decided to pack it up… But my buddy hears an approaching train on the tracks that are about 2 miles away and we decided to stay put to listen for howls triggered by the train, something we often do.

Sure enough, in the woods less than 1/2 mile to our north a group starts howling, and then in the woods we were facing, no more than 1/4 mile to our east, another group starts in, and then we also hear a loner in the mix, he’s within 1/4 mile too.

Disgusted that we couldn’t get them to show earlier, we stayed another 30 minutes trying to get something called in - nothing.