The New Huntmastersbbs!

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The New Huntmastersbbs!   » Optics forum   » Simmons 6-24x50 rifle scope

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Simmons 6-24x50 rifle scope
mtnman4x4
PAKMAN
Member # 304

Icon 1 posted February 12, 2004 08:31 PM      Profile for mtnman4x4   Email mtnman4x4         Edit/Delete Post 
Hey, I'm new to this and am wanting to get in to VArminting. For a entry level scope, (i'm in school and on a budget)What do ya'll recommend for $100 or less. This is what I'm looking at but I'm worried about the objects getting fuzzy at 250 + yards. Simmons 6-24x50 rifle scope with Adjustable Objective and Target Turrets.......This Simmons scope is the Blazer Model # 800517. ANy suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

--------------------
Because man cannot live on concrete alone.

Posts: 6 | From: Oklahoma | Registered: Feb 2004  |  IP: Logged
Tim Behle
Administrator MacNeal Sector
Member # 209

Icon 1 posted February 13, 2004 07:09 AM      Profile for Tim Behle   Author's Homepage   Email Tim Behle         Edit/Delete Post 
Unless you are going to put that scope on a $100 rifle, it's going to be a waste of money. As a general rule of thumb, spend as much on the scope, as you do on the rifle.

Here is a link to a Thread on another board from a young guy who did what you are thinking of doing. You will notice at the end of the thread, his rifle is now topped with a Leupold.

Best thing you can do is scour the pawn shops, and see if you can't find a Leupold cheap. Don't worry about if it looks beat up and battered. They have a lifetime warranty, just send it in and they will repair it.

--------------------
Personally, I carry a gun because I'm too young to die and too old to take
an ass kickin'.

Posts: 3160 | From: Five Miles East of Vic, AZ | Registered: Jun 2003  |  IP: Logged
COONASS
Knows what it's all about
Member # 299