The New Huntmastersbbs!

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The New Huntmastersbbs!   » Night forum   » night hunting information

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: night hunting information
eigermike
PAKMAN
Member # 1002

Icon 5 posted November 27, 2006 03:51 PM      Profile for eigermike   Email eigermike         Edit/Delete Post 
I am new at this varmit hunting. I would like to know when you are going into a stand at night does the light spook coyotes or is it better not to use a light if there is enough moonlight to see when you are going into a stand ? [Confused]
Posts: 6 | From: northwest pa. | Registered: Oct 2006  |  IP: Logged
Tim Behle
Administrator MacNeal Sector
Member # 209

Icon 1 posted November 27, 2006 06:40 PM      Profile for Tim Behle   Author's Homepage   Email Tim Behle         Edit/Delete Post 
If I'm reading you right, you are asking about using a light to walk from the truck to your stand location when hunting at night.

I never did, I was afraid that it would alert any animals in the area, as well as draw unwanted attention from people.

--------------------
Personally, I carry a gun because I'm too young to die and too old to take
an ass kickin'.

Posts: 3160 | From: Five Miles East of Vic, AZ | Registered: Jun 2003  |  IP: Logged
Locohead
World Famous Smoke Dancer
Member # 15

Icon 1 posted November 27, 2006 07:57 PM      Profile for Locohead   Email Locohead         Edit/Delete Post 
Great question. I've never done that sort of thing for predators but I recall climbing an elk mountain once in the dark to get above the timber by daylight and I remember wondering the same thing. Will the light spook the animals?

--------------------
I love my critters and chick!!!! :)

Posts: 2219 | From: CO | Registered: Jan 2003  |  IP: Logged
The Outdoor Tripp
Knows what it's all about
Member # 619